Skip to content

“It’s boring!” An interview with the head of zrce.eu events

The older ones still remember. When festivals really still happened.

“It’s boring!” We did an interview with Volkan Öncan. He is the head of zrce.eu event team and organizes festivals. The interview was conducted without a mask and distance while having a coffee in the sun!

LenaMag: You are responsible for the planning and realization of the events in Novalja & Zrce Beach. How is it going at the moment?

Volkan: It’s boring! Usually, around this time of the year, we had to deal with the cancellation of festivals. It’s a huge effort! We had to cancel Djs and their management. Send emails to clients and partners. Somehow come across as optimistic, even though the vibe was shit. We are missing all that this year.

LenaMag: How is the team dealing with this new boredom?

Volkan: It’s very different. Some in the team, especially our new Croatian employees use the time to prepare the events even better. Graphics, advertising material, guest information and many other things that have to be done are finished earlier.

Others are not coping well with the new situation. They miss the constant vodka shots that became a tradition after every festival cancellation. Others are constantly coming up with new proposals for even more artists. But we already have hardly any free Dj slots at our events.

If you miss the frustrating days, try Croatian language courses. There the frustration is sure!

More time to hang out. The elaborate festival cancellations are missing.

LenaMag: How big is the chance that festivals will have to be cancelled after all?

Volkan: Oh, at the moment it really doesn’t look like it. But who knows. Maybe we’ll cancel a festival just for fun. Just for the sake of the good old times! And because we like to drink vodka shots.

LenaMag: How do the Djs deal with the new situation?

Volkan: For the artists, the situation is also difficult. Many have lost frequent flyer status in the last two years. They now have to wait in the check-in line normally again. There are no more free drinks in the airport lounge.

In addition, high fees are now being paid again, just like before the pandemic. That explains why Porsche now has such long delivery times!

LenaMag: What else is on the agenda today?

Volkan: It’s the 1st of April. We usually come up with an April Fool’s joke. That’s also an old tradition with us. But this year everything is different. Or not? Maybe I’m just practicing some more Croatian.

A lot of things are already prepared now. No festival cancellations in prospect.

Zum Inhalt springen

„Es ist langweilig!“ Ein Interview mit dem zrce.eu Event Chef

Die Älteren erinnern sich noch. Als Festivals wirklich noch stattfanden.

“Es ist langweilig!” Wir haben ein Interview mit Volkan Öncan geführt. Er ist der Chef des zrce.eu Event Teams und organisiert Festivals. Das Interview wurde ohne Maske und Abstand bei einem Kaffee in der Sonne geführt!

LenaMag: Du bist für die Planung und Durchführung der Events in Novalja & Zrce verantwortlich. Wie läuft es derzeit?

Volkan: Es ist langweilig! Normalerweise beschäftigen wir uns um die Jahreszeit mit der Absage von Festivals. Das ist ein riesen Aufwand! Wir müssen Djs und deren Management absagen. Emails an Kunden und Partner verschicken. Irgendwie optimistisch daherkommen, obwohl die Stimmung im Eimer ist. All das fehlt uns dieses Jahr. 

LenaMag: Wie geht das Team mit dieser neuen Langeweile um?

Volkan: Das ist sehr unterschiedlich. Manche im Team, insbesondere unsere neuen kroatischen Mitarbeiterinnen nutzen die Zeit um die Events noch besser vorzubereiten. Grafiken, Werbematerial, Gästeinfos und vieles Andere, das erledigt werden muss wird früher fertig. 

Andere kommen mit der neuen Situation gar nicht gut klar. Sie vermissen das ständige Vodka-Shots trinken, dass zur Tradition wurde nach jeder Festival Absage. Andere kommen ständig mit neuen Vorschlägen für noch mehr Künstler. Dabei haben wir jetzt schon kaum noch freie Dj Slots an unseren Events. 

Wer die frustrierenden Tage vermisst, versucht es mit kroatisch Sprachkursen. Da ist der Frust sicher!

Mehr Zeit zum rumhängen. Die aufwendigen Festival Absagen fehlen.

LenaMag: Wie groß ist die Chance, dass doch noch Festivals abgesagt werden müssen?

Volkan: Ach, derzeit sieht es wirklich nicht danach aus. Aber wer weiß. Vielleicht sagen wir einfach zum Spaß ein Festival ab. Nur um der guten alten Zeiten willen! Und weil wir gerne Vodka Shots trinken. 

LenaMag: Wie gehen die Djs mit der neuen Situation um?

Volkan: Für die Künstler ist die Situation natürlich auch schwierig. Viele haben in den letzten beiden Jahren den Vielflieger Status verloren. Die müssen jetzt wieder normal in der Check-in Schlange anstehen. Es gibt keine Freigetränke mehr in der Airport Lounge. 

Zudem werden jetzt wieder hohe Gagen wie vor der Pandemie bezahlt. Das erklärt, warum Porsche jetzt so lange Lieferzeiten hat! 

LenaMag: Was steht heute noch an?

Volkan: Es ist der 1. April. Normalerweise überlegen wir uns einen April Scherz. Das ist auch eine alte Tradtion bei uns. Aber dieses Jahr ist alles anders. Oder nicht? Vielleicht übe ich auch einfach noch etwas kroatisch. 

Vieles ist jetzt schon vorbereitet. Keine Festival Absagen in Sicht.